Experiences Roles

Overview

User roles have predefined permissions in fabric. This page covers the roles as they relate to the Experiences application and their unique capabilities within each Experiences menu:

  • Publisher: Manages content operations, quality, and ultimately what is presented to website visitors.
  • Editor: Drafts content to be displayed on the website but cannot publish.
  • Viewer: Views content in Experiences. The Viewer role is intended for those who do not directly create or manage content, but need to be informed on the content presented to website visitors.

Pages

The Pages list displays existing pages and their versions, along with page types, archived pages and versions. The editor for page versions is the interface to enter and view content.

  • Publisher: Manages pages, their versions, and page types within Experiences. They can create, edit, publish, schedule, archive, delete, and deactivate regardless of status.
  • Editor: Cannot schedule or publish content, nor edit content versions that are Scheduled or Live status.
    • For specific pages, if all versions are in Draft, Editors can Archive, Deactivate, or Delete them.
    • If any version of a page entry is Scheduled or Live, Editors have limited permissions. They are not able to Archive, Deactivate, or Delete the page.
    • Regardless of page version status, Editors can create a new version, copy existing content entries or versions, and edit entry details such as name, channels & locales assigned, page URL, or SEO metadata.
    • Editors can edit content entry versions that are in Draft or Ended status. Additionally, they can Make a Copy, Archive, Delete, or Preview content version.
    • If a version is Scheduled or Live, Editors can view the content, Make a Copy, and Preview it. If scheduled they can modify the scheduled publish date. They cannot edit the content itself.
    • Archived content and versions can be unarchived or deleted by Editors.
  • Viewer: Views content in Pages, but cannot make any changes. When opening the page editor, the version content components will display in a read-only mode. Additionally, the live preview is available to see how the content will look to visitors.

Page Types

Publishers and Editors can add, edit, or delete page types. Viewers can only view.

Global Elements

The Global Elements list displays existing global elements and their versions, along with archived global elements and versions. The editor for global elements versions is the interface to enter and view content.

  • Publisher: Manages global elements and their versions within Experiences. They can create, edit, publish, schedule, archive, delete, and deactivate regardless of status.
  • Editor: Cannot schedule or publish content, nor edit content versions that are Scheduled or Live status.
    • For specific global elements, if all versions are in Draft, Editors can Archive, Deactivate, or Delete them.
    • If any version of a global element entry is Scheduled or Live, Editors have limited permissions. They are not able to Archive, Deactivate, or Delete the global element.
    • Regardless of global element version status, Editors can create a new version, copy existing versions, and edit version details such as name, channels, or locales assigned.
    • Editors can edit content entry versions that are in Draft or Ended status. Additionally, they can Make a Copy, Archive, Delete, or Preview content version.
    • If a version is Scheduled or Live, Editors can view the content, Make a Copy, and Preview it. If scheduled they can modify the scheduled publish date. They cannot edit the content itself.
    • Archived content and versions can be unarchived or deleted by Editors.
  • Viewer: Views Global elements in Experiences, but cannot make any changes. When opening the Global element editor, the version content components will display in a read-only mode. Additionally, the live preview is available to see how the content will look to your experience visitors.

Menus

The Menus list displays existing menus and their versions. Along with archived menus and versions. The editor for menu versions is the interface to manage and view menu nodes.

  • Publisher: Manages menus and their versions. They can create, edit, publish, schedule, and delete, regardless of status.
  • Editor: Cannot schedule or publish content, nor edit content versions that are Scheduled or Live status.
    • For specific menus, if all versions are in Draft or Ended, Editors can Delete them.
    • If any version of a menu entry is Scheduled or Live, Editors have limited permissions. They are not able to Delete the menu.
    • Regardless of menu version status, Editors can create a new version and edit entry details such as name, channels, or locales assigned.
    • Editors can edit content entry versions that are in Draft or Ended status. Additionally, they can delete or edit details such as names or descriptions.
    • If a version is Scheduled or Live, Editors can view the menu. If scheduled they can modify the scheduled publish date. They cannot edit the menu nodes and their details.
  • Viewer: Views menus in Experiences, but cannot make any changes. When opening the menu editor, the version node structure will display in a read-only mode.

Descriptors

Publishers can create and modify component descriptors.

Editors and Viewers can only view component descriptors.

Related Topics

For more information about role-based access control within fabric’s individual products, see the following sections: